Faith, Hope, & Love

Life, faith, surviving depression, Soulmates, relationships

Daily Prompt – Echo

Leave a comment

Okay, we have been talking about relationships in one of my Facebook groups lately. And those of you who have read my blog know that I have made somewhat of a study on relationships, what makes a good or great relationship, and what the Bible has to say about marriage. So, 10 years ago I spent 9 months studying the book of Ephesians and spent quality time on the passage about marriage in chapter 5. That passage starts by admonishing women to submit to their husbands(ya, right. Ain’t happening with me. You choose me you choose fire. A true sharpening of mind.). In a sense, it is telling women to be an echo of their husband’s leadership. To be a reflection, or mirror of him. For me this is a can of worms and questions, especially since I have gotten into mindful living. This is an argument for taking great thought in who we allow in a place of authority. This is a reason to truly know the person you intend to spend time with whether as a deep friendship, soulmate, or life partner. This is one of the reasons I am thankful for the distance between my soulmate and I. It is creating time to truly know this man, his philosophies, and what moves his heart. It gives me the space to be separate to make my own decisions on these issues, without the physical draw that would be a distraction. If I am going to put myself in a position to echo someone that I have allowed into a place of authority over me, I want to understand and agree with what he projects.

In the beginning of our current time together he corrected my theology, and I jumped down his throat about it. I was not on the same page with him. I was just learning about metaphysics, trying to figure out exactly where he was coming from. To be honest the difference from the man I knew years before and what I was getting now kind of separated my head from my shoulders. But over the last year I have moved a lot closer to where he is spiritually and theologically. Am I an echo of him? Kind of, but many of his ideals are still in the development stage in my mind.

My point here, mainly for the ladies, is this: be mindful about who you allow in your life, and consider all the ramifications to your decision. Guys! Please be someone we will be proud to echo out into the world around us. And ladies – up lift your man. He needs it. Don’t take everything he dishes out as gospel, you have a mind and heart of your own. You may be able to help him see the world or his views from a different angle that will soften him and help him be a better him.

Leave a Reply

